s e e . m y . s p o t s
new . old . host . me . yourturn . photos . morespots
sitting down on the curb with my guitar case leaning up against my side. two girls in a nice red sports car slowly pull in next to me.

"hey boy, what are you doing?"

"waiting" i replied.

"waiting? for what?"

"waiting for a ride north. to canada... im a hiker."

"oh... well, while you wait, come play us a song."

so i get up, i trudge over to them, lay my back pack and my jug of water down, open up my guitar case and put the strap around my neck.

i played a couple songs. they looked at me. i looked at my hands. this habit i have i suppose.

"we can take you as far as iowa." the girl behind the wheel said.

"only if you play us another song." this time it was the girl with the cheesy grin and the black framed glasses.

so, i played another song. and this time i winked at the cute one.

she opened the door, got out and let me in the back seat. guitar case, backpack, water jug and all.

they took me to iowa. they dropped me off at a truck stop and wished me safe traveling.

as soon as they pulled out of the drive i called my mom to come pick me up. 20 minutes later she shows up and yelled at me for pretending i was a hitch hiker again.

old habits die hard.

i suppose?


piebaldman.diaryland.com