s e e . m y . s p o t s
new . old . host . me . yourturn . photos . morespots
I just found this on my computer. Apparently, I was having trouble starting a paper. I remember writing this as my introductory paragraph to get the old ball rolling. Unfortunately, I didn't turn this part in.

Sometimes I sit at my computer and I stare at my screen for hours. I�m not sure what this accomplishes. Nothing is my assumption. So then, like now, I start to write anything. I don�t know why I can�t just do my work like everyone else. I suppose I�m just not a good student. I�m smart. I write well. I read well. All the tools to be a good student, yet I lack. I guess it�s like Dr. Rogers said in class, �we all know in different ways.� So then why the stress? Because I want to be a good student. I want the B or the A average, but I can�t bring myself to do the work that produces those results. Laziness or uncontrollable personality trait? Who knows. Either way I�m not getting this paper done. Apparently this is what they call writer�s block. Not being able to write what you want to write, as opposed to the common misconception that writer�s block is not being able to write at all. I�m writing right now, but I�m not writing what I should be writing, so am I wasting time? Yes and No. Yes, because this produces nothing. No, because it gives my mind the illusion that I�m accomplishing something, which in turn puts me in the mindset to write. Right now this mindset is worthless because the only thing it puts me in the mood to write is this. This will not accomplish my goal. This will do nothing but frustrate me even further, because it sets in the back of my mind the knowledge that I can write. Knowing that I can write, my mind will tell me that I can write this paper. My laziness and perfectionism will tell me otherwise. My laziness, however, has long since been diminished, at least as it pertains to this particular project. It�s the perfectionism that�s kicking in now. That and the knowledge that I have to have something written before class tomorrow or it�s going to be really embarrassing. All she wants is a rough draft. It can be rough. Hence the name. Oh, come on, Jon, just write. Write. Do it. Now.

I also found this (I really wish I knew where I was going with it at the time I was writing it. I'd love to pick it back up again):

�Save your heart, son. Once it�s broken and glued back together, it never beats the same again.� Or so his mother used to say.

But loneliness seeps in through his windows at night like a mist. It�s times like this when masturbation fails. When checking out good-looking women as he sits on a park bench and pretends to read a day-old newspaper doesn�t quite have the same flare it used to. When famous actresses and models escape his sexual fantasies and give way to deeper, more meaningful thoughts than his teenage mind usually allows. Empty arms means more than an unsatisfied libido. It means not having someone to share your imperfections with.


piebaldman.diaryland.com