s e e . m y . s p o t s
new . old . host . me . yourturn . photos . morespots
You may remember this entry? Well, I've been working with it for the past couple days and here's what I've managed to come up with. I plan on reading it out loud at a poetry reading coming up in a few days. Fun times.

To My Lover At Sea

The wind skids across my face-
I am the obstruction.

My shirt ripples violently - a flag in a storm.
My pants are shy children
hiding behind their mother legs.
I am the target of fury.
And I do not care.
Newborn leaves fly screaming around me, helpless.
Plastic tumbleweeds scrape
across the parking lot,
digging into the ground with plastic fingernails
as they go,
begging the wind to release.
And I do not care.
A drop of rain on my wrist.
And I do not care.
Electric air manifests itself in streaks
across the grey horizon.
And I do not care.

I am your lighthouse.
Your north star.
And I will not move until our fingers
connect like locks and keys
and my heart opens its front door.

Home will be a reality.

The wind moans in my ear,
but carries no news.
A tear mingles with the rain on my face,
and the wind barrels on.

I am your lightning rod.
And I do not care.


piebaldman.diaryland.com