s e e . m y . s p o t s
new . old . host . me . yourturn . photos . morespots
"you like bright eyes huh?"

"yeah. do you?"

"yeah. i'm going to see them april 26."

"really? where?"

"the cat's cradle"

"where's that?"

"somewhere in north carolina. i've already got tickets"

"nice"

[pause here for uncomfortable 15-25 second silence]

"so do you live around here?"

"actually i'm from tucson, but i go to school here."

"yeah? what school?"

"PC"

"oh okay."

"yeah...i don't normally walk up and talk to strangers but i saw you looking at bright eyes cds and you had "the look" so i thought i'd tell you about the show."

"yeah i suppose i do have "the look" [<-----what? stupid, stupid, stupid. how about "yeah thanks for telling me about it" i'm such a moron. sorry, moving on.]

"yeah, well anyway. i better get back to my friends. nice to meet you."

i didn't even have the presence of mind to exchange names with her. the only reason i know her name is because when i was checking out at the register she walked up to me as she was leaving and gave me her email address along with her name on a slip of paper and offered me a ride to the show.

i don't know. i unintentionally gave her the impression that i wasn't interested in knowing her at all. and that's totally not it. i was just scared out of my mind. picture the most awkward person you've ever met. now triple them and that's me in that little 2 minute time-frame. i should really learn how to communicate with people i don't know. i'm pretty sure it's a useful skill.

anyway, hopefully i can make friends with this girl despite my lack of coolness.

by the way, that was the first time a girl i don't know has ever walked up to me and talked to me. it was not, unfortunately, the first time i've been so nervous i couldn't talk. oh well. life is that...

current music: cursive


piebaldman.diaryland.com